Published On : October 20, 2021  |  Author : Astrologer Umesh
Learn Astrology Lesson Seven

Dear Viewers, we have read about the different types of Maitri or Friendships among the planets used frequently while analyzing the birth chart along with the planetary aspects of each planet. Now we will move to the next step of basics and will study about all the 12 zodiac signs or Rashis what it represents in Vedic Astrology. Though we have already known the names of Rashis or zodiac signs and its ruling lord or planet, but here we will disclose some more basics about the zodiac signs. So let’s start our Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Seven chapter of basics of Rashis.

Book Your Face To Face Consultation 30 Minutes Today! Personalized Insights Await.

What is Zodiac Sign or Rashi?

Zodiac Signs are basically the stars in which every planet moves, so if we take Sun as moving into the stars, then Sun moves once in a year round the stars, and the plain in which it appears to move with respect to earth known as Ecliptic, and the band or belt around the ecliptic upto 9 degrees longitudinally is termed as Zodiac belt, which is divided into 12 equal parts considered as 12 Zodiac signs. This way, Zodiac belt consists of 360 degrees and then each sign will consist 360/12= 30 degrees. Thus, from here, we can understand that each zodiac sign consists of 30 degrees each. Find below the names of zodiac signs or rashis as per the Vedic and Western system along with its ruling planet:

S.No. Indian Name Western Name Ruling Planet/ Lord

Nature of Zodiac Signs:

In Vedic Astrology, the zodiac signs are grouped based on its nature and behaviour, so let’s understand below the 12 zodiac signs and how these are grouped in different categories based on its behaviour or nature:

Based on Masculine & Feminine and Odd & Even sign, the zodiacs signs are categorized as below:

Masculine or Odd signsAries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, Aquarius.
Feminine of even singsTaurus, Caner, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces.

Based on Nature, it is categorized into three categories, such as, movable, fixed and dual signs. Find below how they are categorized in these:

Movable Signs Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn
Fixed SignsTaurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius
Dual or common signsGemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

Based on Element: On Element basis, it can be categorized in 4 ways namely Fire, Earthy, Airy and Watery Signs, find below how all these 12 zodiac sign are categorized:

Fiery SignsAries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earthy SignsTaurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Airy SignsGemini, Libra, Aquarius
Watery SignsCancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Know how these 12 zodiac signs are categorized in different Northern, Southern and Equinoctial Signs: Northern one basically falls in the northern hemisphere, Southern signs falls in Southern Hemisphere and Equinoctial sings fall on the Equinox

Northern SignsAries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo
Southern SignsLibra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces
Equinoctial SignsAries, Libra

Get expert advice from anywhere with our convenient Video Consultation! Book today.

Find below the categories of fruitful, Barren and Moderate Zodiac signs. As per the names, fruitful signifies the good results, Barren signifies something deprived of and the moderate one which consists both fruitful and barren qualities:

Fruitful SignsTaurus, Cancer, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Pisces.
Barren SignsAries, Gemini, Leo, Virgo
Moderate SignsLibra, Capricorn, Aquarius

Based on Varna: We have categorized all the zodiac signs as per the Varna (Caste), so find below which zodiac sign gets associated with which Varna in Astrology:

Brahmin Varna SignsCancer, Scorpio, Pisces
Kshtriya Varna SignsAries, Leo, Sagittarius
Vaishya Varna SignsTaurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Shoodra Varna SignsGemini, Libra, Aquarius

Based on Ascension / rising signs: There are different categories as described below in terms of rising star, so find below the categories and its corresponding zodiac signs:

Signs of Long AscensionCancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Sagittarius
Signs of Short AscensionArise, Taurus, Gemini, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces.
Sirshodaya SignsLeo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Aquarius (Rising by head)
Prishtodaya SignsAries, Taurus, Cancer, Sagittarius, (Rising from hind parts) Capricorn.
Ubhayodaya SignsGemini,  Pisces (Rising both ways)
Quadruped SignsAries, Taurus, Leo, 2nd half of (Four legged chatuspad) Sagittarius, 1st half of Capricorn

Body Parts ruled by the Zodiac Signs:

In Vedic Astrology, different zodiac signs rule over the different human body parts and these zodiac signs are natural significator of body parts according to Kaal Purush Kundali (The Natural Kundali with rising ascendant Aries). We have already learnt about the Kaal Purush Kundali what it is all about in previous levels, so based on it, Aries will fall in the ascendant or first house naturally and hence will rule over Head of Body naturally. Like wise, other zodiac signs will also signify other body parts, so let’s begin with all with the help of below table:

SignBody Part
TaurusFace and Throat
GeminiNeck and arms shoulders chest
LeoStomach upper abdomen
VirgoStomach lower abdomen and intestines
LibraPrivate Parts / external genitalia
ScorpioWaist and hips

So we have learnt here all about the significations of 12 zodiac signs, once you understand this concept, we will move to the next level of basics under zodiac signs category, that will help you to know auspicious and inauspicious planets for every zodiac signs in Vedic Astrology, so let’s begin our next level of basics of 12 zodiac signs by visiting to the next page. Read our Indian Astrology Blog and get updated with most latest happening around astrological domains these days.

Ready for Clarity? Schedule Your Astrology Telephonic Consultation 30 Minutes Today!

Also Read:
Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Eight and Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Nine and Understanding of Basic Astrology Part One