Published On : October 8, 2021  |  Author : Astrologer Umesh
Learn Astrology Lesson One

To understand the concept of Astrology, you should be firstly aware of 9 planets, 12 zodiac signs, 12 houses and 28 constellations. Without knowing these, you can not proceed with prediction in Astrology. Let’s know the names of basic terms of Astrology such as different planets, signs, houses and constellation below:

Name Of 9 Planets In Astrology

We all have heard the names of 9 planets, however, in Vedic Astrology, Sun & Moon are also considered as planets and it is based on Geocentric instead Heliocentric. It means that all planetary movements are considered with respect to mother planet earth instead Sun. The names of planets are as follows:

Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangal), Mercury (Budh), Jupiter (Guru), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), North Node (Rahu) and South Node (Ketu)

 Connect directly with our experts for a Face To Face Consultation 30 Minutes. Schedule your session today!

Name Of 12 Zodiac Signs In Astrology

Zodiac signs are the sequence of symbols representing 12 phases of cycle in which each planet gets placed. The sequence from the starting is as follows:

1: Aries 2: Taurus 3: Gemini 4: Cancer 5: Leo 6: Virgo 7: Libra 8: Scorpio 9: Sagittarius 10: Capricorn 11: Aquarius 12: Pisces

Name Of 28 Constellations

Nakshatras are something in which planets get placed. Nakshatra is sub division of zodiac sign. Find below the names of 28 Nakshatra with sequence:

1. Ashwini 2. Bharani 3. Krittika 4. Rohini 5. Mrigshira 6. Ardra 7. Punarvasu 8. Pushya 9. Ashlesha 10. Magha 11. Purva Phalguni 12. Uttara Phalguni 13. Hasta 14. Chitra 15. Swati 16. Vishakha 17. Anuradha 18. Jyestha 19. Mula 20. Purvashada 21. UttaraShada 22. Sravan 23. Dhanishta 24. Shatbisha 25. Purva Bhadrapada 26. Uttara Bhadrapada 27. Revati 28. Abhijit (An Additional Nakshtra lies between Uttarashada to Sravan Nakshatra, it is not considered in regular Nakshatras)

Name Of 12 Houses In Astrology

The way planets are placed in certain zodiac sign and certain nakshatra is termed as House in Horoscope. Find below the name of houses and what it signifies in Vedic Astrology:

First house: (The house of self or personality)

Second House: (The house of wealth & family)

Third House (The house of efforts & communication)

Fourth House (House of comforts & luxury)

Fifth House (House of education & intellect)

Sixth House (House of debt, Disease or Enemies)

Seventh House (House of Marriage & Partnership)

Eighth House (House of uncertainty & transformation)

Ninth House (House of luck & fortune)

Tenth House (House of career & profession)

Eleventh House (House of income & gains)

Twelfth House (The house of expenditures, losses & foreign land)

Important Basic Astrological Terms

Let’s decode the astrological terms which are used frequently:

Birth Chart/Horoscope: It is a map of the exact placements of planets in sky in the certain zodiac sign and certain Nakshatra at the time of birth of a child. There is no difference in Birth Chart and Horoscope. If we say Birth Chart, Kundali, Horoscope, Natal Chart, then we will be talking about the Birth Chart only. Horoscope is mainly the astrological term of Western Astrology. Do you want to get guided toward positive experience in love life? Choose our Love Horoscope Guidance will help you a lot in this regard.

Harness the Power of the Universe: Schedule Your Telephonic Consultation 30 Minutes Today!

Here we will discuss about the different types of Birth Charts prepared on the basis of astrological concepts based on different systems:

North style Birth Chart

North Indian Birth Chart

In North Indian, all the 12 houses are fixed and zodiac signs are movable. Find the style format of the North Indian Birth Chart below:

Here you can clearly see that No. 5 i.e. Leo is rising in first house, the fixed one. The first house is also termed as Lagna or Ascendant too. The counting of birth chart’s houses will start from No. 5 (The first house), No 6: (The second house) and so on upto No. 4 (The 12th house) and the corresponding rising zodiac signs are Leo (In first house represented by No.5), Virgo (In second House represented by No. 6) upto Cancer ( The 12th house represented No. 4) respectively. Thus, in this style, the houses are fixed but zodiac signs can be variable.

South Style Birth Chart

South Indian Birth Chart

In South Indian Birth Chart, the 12 zodiac signs are fixed, while houses are moving or variable. Find below the South Indian Birth Chart for your understanding:

Here in this South Indian Birth Chart style, the Leo sign which is rising as an Ascendant is fixed for every birth chart. Leo Sign is shown here with “Asc” too, which means Ascendant or first house, whereas Aries (The first Zodiac sign is always rising in the house what is shown in the picture.


Western Style of the horoscope

In Western Birth chart or Horoscope, it is based on the trophical zodiac unlike sidereal one as Indian system. It is based on Sun sign while Indian system focuses on Moon sign. Rest things in Western Astrology is same as Indian one like 9 planets, 12 zodiac signs and 27 constellations or stars. Natal Chart is prepared and divided into 12 houses and planets are placed in different houses in different stars. In Western Astrology, stars make the constellations in Solar system which will be present among 12 houses.  We hope you Understanding of Basic Astrology Part One and all the formats of Birth charts, however, we mainly focus here the North Indian Birth Chart and Vedic Astrology. To proceed with further terms of Astrology, let’s move on to the next basic level of Astrology described in the next page. Can’t handle problems in your marriage? Our Tips Astrology For Marriage Issues by Astrologer In India can help you solve your existing Marital Problems issues with peace and happiness.

Expert advice is just a video call away. Book your Video Consultation now!

Read More Lessons:
Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Two and Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Three and Understanding of Basic Astrology Part Four